Squeezing in a little quilting!

So, it’s been a busy last couple of weeks and disappointingly I haven’t been able to work on my quilts much. As a result – I haven’t been able to blog at all. 😦 First it was a  week long trip to San Francisco for work. Then it was Thanksgiving and a 3-day weekend cruise to Mexico. While I enjoyed both, there was absolutely no way to squeeze quilting in. This week, I’ve been trying to get caught up and of course I’ve been quilting – continuing to work on MY quilt. I love the way it is turning out too! I was able to cut out most of the quilt before I left on my first trip and the last two nights I’ve been working on chain piecing my blocks. First was the gray. It’s Kona Coal of course.

Next was the black borders. Here they are all ready to be chain pieced.

And here they are all put together!

That was all I planned on doing but, I just had to start to lay it out to see how it’s going to look:

I’m so excited! My boyfriend came over and immediately claimed it as his own! I told him he would have to share it with me. Can’t wait until it’s done.

9 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Works In Progress

9 responses to “Squeezing in a little quilting!

  1. Ivy

    I love the way the grey works in this. I had thought about sashing my yellow-and-black Mod Sampler with grey, but I couldn’t pull it off. Yours looks great here!

  2. Oh it’s looking so good!! maybe you can get the blocks sewn together this weekend and bring it for show & tell??

  3. this is fantastic. i love this line of fabric. you make such amazing quilts

  4. That quilt is looking so great! I love the modern color combo.

  5. idreamofquilts

    Thanks everyone! Ivy – yes I thought of this fabric when I saw your quilt! Alissa – I do plan on bringing my WIP! Leslie – thanks for the compliments! Chancy – thanks!

  6. Your quilt is BEAUTIFUL! I like the name too!! I am “holding on to summer” as well. 🙂

  7. I’d love to see this when you finish. Not that you are asking, but if it were me I would bind it in pink. It would look amazing plus your boyfriend might be deterred from stealing it!

    • idreamofquilts

      Haha! Great minds think alike – I’m actually planning on making the backing a hot pink! I already have the fabric purchased. Unfortunately, he tries to steal all my quilt so I don’t think this will deter him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

