The Madelyn: A Girly Modern Baby Quilt Gift Set

So, I just completed a quilt gift set for a coworker. He and his wife were the first friends that I had in the last couple years that have had a baby girl. I love baby gifts and I love little boys but, it’s just something about being able to create a truly girly baby gift. So, I saw the Frolic line by Wendy Slotboom in the fabric store and just knew I had to use this fabric as the inspiration for the quilt. What is cuter than fabric with a collection of owls, possums, squirrels, and woodpeckers on it? And it’s paired with pinks and yellows and greens? So cute. Then I picked a bunch of Kona solids and other fabrics to coordinate and I went to town. I knew exactly what pattern that I was going to use. I had sketched this out for a very colorful quilt a while ago (made with solids of course) but, I was excited to try it with prints. I do love how it turned out. It’s so delicate and girly. And so out of my comfort zone with the colors. I love it! I even got a chance to use one of my decorative stitches on my machine that I never use. The decorative stitch added such an extra dimension of girliness too! Let me know what you think about it!

Here’s the quilt with the ball on it.

Here’s a detail shot of the quilt. The squares are 1.5″ square. And there are two lines of decorate stitching in each of the two white panels. Oh, and you can see a peek of the back with that striped pink and white minky on it.

I usually make “Bibs, Burps, and Balls” to go with baby gifts. I made three bibs and three burp cloths.

Here are the bibs by themselves.

Bib detail. On the gray bib i just added a few straight line stitches.

On the bib with white, I put a line of the same decorative stitch that was on the quilt.

Here’s a little detail from the ball. It’s not as round as I would like it but, it’s still cute!

And, what’s a gift without a card? I also used the decorative stitch here!

Here’s the inside of the card.

And, here it the gift all wrapped up!

Now I’m ready to make this quilt in a colorway that more reflects me! :-) Here I come solids!

15 Comments

Filed under Finished Projects, Quilts

15 responses to “The Madelyn: A Girly Modern Baby Quilt Gift Set

  1. Em'

    Oh My GOSH! WHAT a GIFT! Such great presentation and thought went into this! Love it! Great job!

  2. Oh. My. Gosh. This is so beautiful, Latifah. I am sure the new parents and baby will LOVE it.

  3. Wow; this is a fantastic baby gift; absolutely beautiful. Geez, I just give a quilt!

  4. Kelly B.

    Just saw your quilt pic posted on Flickr and clicked to your blog to see a bit more detail and OH MY GOSH! That is the most fantastic gift EVER! So thoughtful and totally beautiful–every single piece!

  5. Wow, your presentation is amazing! I usually throw my quilt into a gift bag with some tissue paper. I’ll have to use your inspiration next time! Can’t wait to see your next quilt.

  6. Wow, that is such a beautiful gift! Well done!

  7. WOW. I absolutely looove the quilt, and all of your extras are just wonderful. What a beautiful gift!

  8. Beautiful! What a lovely gift!

  9. Patty Simmons

    Wonderful! And what baby wouldn’t love it all! You’ll have to give us a tutorial on making the bibs and burps! Or a link to the pattern? Great work.

  10. It’s great Latifah! What beautiful work!

  11. Dopako

    OMG, simply wonderful!!!!

  12. Abi

    So cute, it makes me want another baby!

  13. Those baby gifts are really cool. This is my first visit to your blog and I’m adding it to my RSS page so I can see when you update. I’d love to see you over at my blog some day.

  14. Cruz

    Spectacular gift and presentation! This family is lucky to have your in their lives.

  15. Just discovered your blog today. Very nice.
    Love the baby girl quilt.
    I especially love the personalized card. Great job !

Leave a Reply

